Readers of The Lost Art

Seven Soldiers of Victory vol. 1-4

March 4th, 2009

Seven Soldiers Volume TwoSeven Soldiers Volume TwoSeven Soldiers Volume ThreeSeven Soldiers Volume Four 

Writer: Grant Morrison
Artist:  Various
Reviewer: Louise

The Seven Soldiers of Victory series sees Grant Morrison collect together seven minor DC characters – Zatanna, Klarion the Witch Boy, the Manhattan Guardian, Frankenstein, the Shining Knight, the Bulleteer and Mister Miracle. They may never meet, but unknowingly, they will work together to confront an enemy that threatens all life on earth, and become the Seven Soldiers of Victory.

Seven Soldiers was originally published as a series in which each character’s story was told over four issues, with distinctive artwork for each story. Collecting them together necessarily means that some characters appear only in the first few volumes. Readers may well find that some tales are more gripping than others, depending on their preferred type of story; the obscure and surreal “Klarion” tales contrast highly with the straightforward origin-story and classic superhero-art of the “Bulleteer”. If you are going to read this series, I highly recommend making sure you can obtain all four volumes, as you’ll probably want to go back a few times to retrace some of the earlier stories. A rewarding series for those willing to get into it.
Seven Soldiers of Victory vol 1
Paperback: 211 pages
Publisher: DC Comics (January 4, 2006)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1401209254

Seven Soldiers of Victory vol 2
Paperback: 176 pages
Publisher: DC Comics (March 22, 2006)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1401209750

Seven Soldiers of Victory vol 3
Paperback: 176 pages
Publisher: DC Comics (May 31, 2006)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1401209769

Seven Soldiers of Victory vol 4
Paperback: 224 pages
Publisher: DC Comics (January 26, 2007)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1401209777

(First published 17/01/2007.)

Comments are closed.